Bruker Thesis Prize


The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the 5th Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, set up to recognise outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The winner will give a prize lecture at the 52nd RSC ESR Group Meeting being held at University of Glasgow 9th–11th April 2019. The rules of the competition are:

1. To be eligible for the Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, the thesis defence (a viva voce examination or equivalent) must have taken place within 730 days of the deadline.

2. Applications should be submitted by the thesis author and must include a one-page summary, as well as letters of support from the thesis supervisor and one of the examiners (the external examiner where possible).

3. Theses that were previously submitted for the 2018 competition are still eligible if they fall within the dates above; authors of such theses should contact Ilya Kuprov (as below) but need not resubmit the paperwork.

Submissions are shortlisted by the RSC ESR Group Committee. Each of the shortlisted works are sent to a panel of expert reviewers, appointed by the Committee, for comments on quality, importance and impact. The Committee will then collate reviewer comments and make an award decision.

The application deadline for the 2019 Bruker Thesis Prize was 12:00 UK time on 01 December 2018. Applications are now closed. Click here for details of the 2019 winner.

Applications comprised of four PDF files (one-page summary of the thesis, the full thesis, supervisor support letter, examiner support letter). A similar format is likely to be followed for future rounds, and full details will be available here in due course. Please direct any enquiries about the thesis prize to the ESR Group Secretary — Prof Ilya Kuprov (

Students and early career postdoctoral researchers may also be eligible to apply for the JEOL student prize. The prize, awarded annually on the basis of a lecture given at the RSC ESR group meeting, is now in its 23rd year.
The RSC ESR group committee are grateful to both companies for their generous and long-standing support.

Past Bruker Thesis Prize Winners

2019: “Improving the Sensitivity and Utility of Pulsed Dipolar Experiments in EPR at 94 GHz”, Dr Claire Motion, University of St Andrews, UK.
2018: “Magnetic Resonance with Quantum Microwaves”, Dr Audrey Bienfait, CEA-Saclay, France.
2017: “Frequency-Swept Microwave Pulses for Electron Spin Resonance”, Dr Andrin Doll, ETH Zürich, Switzerland.
2016: “Uncrossing wires: EPR reveals spin delocalization in porphyrin nanoassemblies”, Dr Caludia Tait, University of Oxford, UK.
2015: “Frequency Dependence of Nitroxide Relaxation from 250 MHz to 34 GHz”, Dr Joshua Biller, University of Denver, US.

If you are a past prize-winner and wish your photograph to be removed please contact the webmaster.