Bruker Prize Lecture 2015


Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made major contributions to the application of ESR spectroscopy in chemical or biological systems. The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2015 Bruker Prize Lecturer is Professor Robert Bittl from Free University Berlin.

Robert Bittl

The lecture will be followed by the Bruker reception. The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.


Bruker Thesis Prize 2015

Applications are invited for the inaugural Bruker Thesis Prize — a 5,000 euro award and a prize lecture at the ESR Group Meeting, set up to recognize outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The rules of the competition are:

thesis_prize1. To be eligible for the Bruker Thesis Prize, the thesis viva voce examination must have taken place within 730 days of the deadline.

2. Applications should be submitted by the thesis author and must include a one-page summary, as well as letters of support from the thesis supervisor and one of the external examiners.

Submissions will be shortlisted by the RSC ESR Group Committee. Each of the shortlisted works will be sent to an expert reviewer, appointed by the Committee, for comments on quality, importance and impact. The Committee will then collate reviewer comments and make an award decision.

The deadline for the 2015 Bruker Thesis Prize applications is 12:00 GMT on 01 December 2014. Applications should be sent, in the form of PDF files (1-page summary, full thesis, supervisor support letter, examiner support letter) to ESR Group Secretary — Prof Eric McInnes (