Bruker Prize Lecture 2016


Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made a major contribution to the application of ESR spectroscopy in chemical or biological systems. The ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2016 Bruker Prize Lecturer is Professor R. David Britt from the University of California, Davis.

David Britt

The lecture will be followed by the Bruker reception. The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.


Bruker Thesis Prize 2016

The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the 2nd Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, set up to recognize outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The winner will be invited to give a prize lecture at the ESR Group Meeting on 3rd-7th April 2016. All of the prize winner’s attendance expenses will be covered. The rules of the competition are:


1. To be eligible for the Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, the thesis defence (viva voce examination or equivalent) must have taken place within 730 days of the deadline.

2. Applications should be submitted by the thesis author and must include a one-page summary, as well as letters of support from the thesis supervisor and one of the examiners (the external examiner where possible).

3. Theses that were previously submitted for the 2015 competition are still eligible if they fall within the dates above; authors of such theses should contact Eric McInnes (as below) but need not resubmit the paperwork.

Submissions will be shortlisted by the RSC ESR Group Committee. Each of the shortlisted works will be sent to an expert reviewer, appointed by the Committee, for comments on quality, importance and impact. The Committee will then collate reviewer comments and make an award decision.

The deadline for the 2016 Bruker Thesis Prize applications is 12:00 GMT on 01 December 2015. Applications should be sent, in the form of four PDF files (one-page summary of the thesis, the full thesis, supervisor support letter, examiner support letter) to the ESR Group Secretary — Prof Eric McInnes (