Bruker Prize Lecture 2018


Sabine van Doorslaer

Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made a major contribution to the application of ESR spectroscopy in chemical or biological systems. The ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2018 Bruker Prize will be awarded to Prof Sabine van Doorslaer in recognition of her outstanding work in the development and application of hyperfine methods, and in particular HYSCORE, for detailed structural characterization of proteins, bio-molecules and materials.

The lecture will be followed by the Bruker reception. The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.

Bruker Thesis Prize 2018

The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the 4th Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, set up to recognize outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The winner will be invited to give a prize lecture at the 51st Annual International Meeting of the RSC ESR spectroscopy group, at Queen Mary University of London, 8th–12th April 2018. All of the prize winner’s attendance expenses will be covered. The rules of the competition are:

thesis prize 2017

1. To be eligible for the Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, the thesis defence (viva voce examination or equivalent) must have taken place within 730 days of the deadline.

2. Applications should be submitted by the thesis author and must include a one-page summary, as well as letters of support from the thesis supervisor and one of the examiners (the external examiner where possible).

3. Theses that were previously submitted for the 2017 competition are still eligible if they fall within the dates above; authors of such theses should contact Ilya Kuprov (as below) but need not resubmit the paperwork.

Submissions will be shortlisted by the RSC ESR Group Committee. Each of the shortlisted works will be sent to an expert reviewer, appointed by the Committee, for comments on quality, importance and impact. The Committee will then collate reviewer comments and make an award decision.

The application deadline for the 2018 Bruker Thesis Prize is 12:00 UK time on 01 December 2017.

Applications should be sent, in the form of four PDF files (one-page summary of the thesis, the full thesis, supervisor support letter, examiner support letter) to the ESR Group Secretary — Prof Ilya Kuprov (

Details of past winners are available here.