Bruker Prize Lecture 2019


Prof. Marina Bennati

Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made a major contribution to the application of ESR spectroscopy in chemical or biological systems. The ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2019 Bruker Prize will be awarded to Prof. Marina Bennati. As the nominations highlighted her outstanding work spans not just ESR but also the neighbouring disciplines of NMR and DNP. Even within EPR the scope of her work is large and impressive including both state of the art ESR methods applied to biophysics, instrumental development (e.g. dual mode cavity for W-band, rapid freeze quench for multi-frequency ESR) and theoretical accounts of the results (e.g. CP-ENDOR and orientation selection)

The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.

Bruker Thesis Prize 2019

Dr Claire Motion

The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the 5th Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, set up to recognize outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The winner of the 2019 competition is Dr Claire Motion for her thesis completed at the University of St Andrews, supervised by Prof. Graham Smith. To quote out expert reviewers panel:

Dr Motion has significantly enhanced sensitivity of a cutting-edge spectrometer and has demonstrated an incredible sensitivity improvement in low-spin Fe(III)-nitroxide DEER, which no expert would have predicted. This was not just a matter of luck, but a result of meticulous preparation and deep understanding. […] the thesis of Dr Motion is a convincing demonstration of scholarship […] it is very impressive how many journal articles she managed to publish.

The Bruker Thesis Prize 2019 lecture, entitled Improving the Sensitivity and Utility of Pulsed Dipolar Experiments in EPR at 94GHz will be delivered at the 52nd Annual International Meeting of the RSC ESR spectroscopy group in Glasgow, on Wednesday, April 10 at 18:00.

We are grateful to Bruker for their continued support of this prize.

Details of past winners are available here. Please join our mail list to be notified when applications are opened for the next Bruker Thesis Prize.