Bruker Prizes

Bruker Prize Lecture 2022


Prof. Graham Smith

Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made a major contribution to the application of ESR spectroscopy in chemical or biological systems. The ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2022 Bruker Prize will be awarded to Prof. Graham Smith. As the nominations highlighted his outstanding work spans not just ESR but also the neighbouring discipline of millimeter wave RADAR. Even within EPR the scope of his work is large and impressive including both state of the art ESR methods applied to biophysics, instrumental development including ultra-short deadtimes and sensitivity in W-band hardware and AWG pulse development in ESR.

The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.


Bruker Thesis Prize 2022

Dr Janne Soetbeer

The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the winner of the 8th Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, Dr Janne Soetbeer. As winner of the 2022 competition, Dr Soetbeer has accepted an invitation to give a prize lecture at the 55th Annual International Meeting of the RSC ESR spectroscopy group, at University of St Andrews, 6th–10th June 2022.

Dr Janne Soetbeer received a Dr. sc. ETH Zurich degree in the Laboratory of Physical Chemistry, ETH Zurich, and her thesis title is “Dynamical decoupling in EPR spectroscopy for quantitative decoherence description via noise spectroscopy.” Her work garnered comments from the reviewers, such as “The meticulous analysis of spin decoherence in this thesis contributes to our understanding of this fundamental process” and “Novel and creative approach for a rigorous and comprehensive analysis of decoherence processes in pulsed EPR spectroscopy.” In addition to her remarkable dissertation, Dr Soetbeer is an author of a number of publications ranging from carbene transfer chemistry of myoglobin, multi-frequency EPR of bisnitroxide polarizing agents, NUS-HYSCORE, to EPR and NMR characterisation of an isomerase of peptidyl-prolines, Pin1. These publications will no doubt contribute to an enriching lecture.

We are grateful to Bruker for their continued support of this prize.

Details of past winners are available here. Please join our mail list to be notified when applications are opened for the next Bruker Thesis Prize.