Bruker Prize and Lecture

Bruker Prize Lecture 2024


Prof Stefan Stoll

Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made a major contribution to the application of ESR spectroscopy in chemical or biological systems. The ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2024 Bruker Prize will be awarded to Professor Songi Han.

The RSC ESR committee is delighted to announce the award of the Bruker Prize 2024 to Professor Songi Han for her contributions to the development and application of Magnetic Resonance techniques, in particular her symbiotic and innovative approach to a seamless marriage of EPR and NMR methodology, to allow bespoke control and transfer of both electron and nuclear spin polarization and consequently exquisite and exploitable hyperpolarization.

The 2024 Bruker lecture will be followed by the Bruker reception. The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.


Bruker Thesis Prize 2024

The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the 10th Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, set up to recognize outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The winner of the 2024 competition will be invited to give a prize lecture at the 57th Annual International Meeting of the RSC ESR spectroscopy group, at University of Warwick, 8th-10th April, 2024.

The application deadline is 23:59 UK time on 16th October 2024. The application portal, now open , and full rules of the competion are available at Applications should have been sent, in the form of four PDF files (one-page summary of the thesis, the full thesis, supervisor support one-page letter, examiner support one-page letter)

Any enquiries about the thesis prize should be directed to the ESR Group Secretary (

We are grateful to Bruker for their continued support of this prize.

Details of past winners are available here. Please join our mail list to be notified when applications are opened for the next Bruker Thesis Prize.