The ESR Spectroscopy Group is organized with the aid of a committee of group members, with a Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. General members serve on the Committee for three years and may be re-elected for a further three years. The Chair is elected for three years, the Secretary for five years and the Treasurer for four years. The Committee often has an international member representing EPR practitioners outside the UK, an industry representative, and a local organizer for the current conference. Since 2016 the previous conference organiser has been invited to served a further year to pass on their expertise, and in 2017 it was decided that a new treasurer would serve as a treasurer-elect for one year prior to enable a smooth transfer of power.

Committee Elections 2021

The Electron Spin Resonance Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry has concluded an appointment round for the following officers to replace the individuals who have served their full terms of office:

  1. Secretary, for five years starting May 2021
  2. International Representative, for three years starting May 2021
  3. Web Master, for three years starting May 2021
  4. Industry Representative, for three years starting May 2021
  5. Ordinary Committee Member, for three years starting May 2021

Please follow the outcome of 2021 elections as the committee list is updated below. A sincere thank you is given to all those who submitted nominations.

Membership of the committee is open to all members of the Royal Society of Chemistry regardless of membership category or previous experience. RSC staff are on hand to support our volunteers and to offer guidance as required and training is available. All nominations must be made with the agreement of the candidate, and self nominations are permitted. Elections are now carried out using an anonymous online voting system provided by the RSC, and nominations are managed centrally by the Networks Team. To vote you must be an RSC member and a member of the ESR Spectroscopy interest group, so please check the details of your RSC membership to ensure your affiliation to the interest group is recorded (RSC members can join up to three interest groups free of charge). We are an inclusive organisation and we aim to ensure that our committees are representative of the breadth and diversity of our community. We welcome and strongly encourage all of our members, regardless of membership category, age, demographic or experience, to consider these opportunities. For further details of the RSC rules governing member networks, including committee terms of office and election of committee members please click here.


The next AGM will be held at the 2022 conference. The previous AGM was held on Tuesday 9th April, 2019 at 5.30 pm during our conference in Glasgow.

Current Committee

Post Name Institution Tel Period
Chair Prof Christiane Timmel University of Oxford +44 1865 272 682 2019-22
Secretary Dr Chris Wedge University of Huddersfield +44 1484 471 614 2021-26
(webmaster 2016-21)
Treasurer Dr David Norman University of Dundee +44 1382 384 798 2018-22
International Representative Prof Marilena Di Valentin University of Padova +39 0498 275 139 2021-24
Web Master Dr Will Myers University of Oxford +44 1865 272 651 2021-24
Industry Representative Dr Alex Rogerson Bruker (UK) Limited +44 2476 855 200 2021-24
Committee Member Prof Christos Pliotas University of Leeds +44 1133 431229 2021-24
Committee Member Dr Paul Jonsen TalaveraScience +44 1423 810 388 2019-22
Committee Member Dr Floriana Tuna University of Manchester +44 1612 751 005 2019-22
2022 Conference Organiser Dr Janet Lovett University of St Andrews +44 1334 463120 2021-23
2021 Conference Organiser Dr Emma Richards University of Cardiff +44 2920 874 029 2020-22
RSC Networks Officer Dr Fiona McMillan RSC +44 1223 432 269

Committee News

The committee are delighted that Prof Christiane Timmel, current chair of the RSC ESR group, has been awarded the RSC Tilden prize. This is getting to be somewhat of a theme, our former chair Prof. Eric McInnes winning the same award last year. Many congratulations Chris and Eric! See for details of the 2020 award.