Bruker Lecture


Since 1986, Bruker Biospin have sponsored an annual Lecture, with an accompanying prize, to be presented by a scientist who has made a major scientific contribution to the field of ESR spectroscopy.

Professor Songi Han will present the 39th Bruker Lecture at the 57th Annual International Meeting of the RSC ESR group , at the University of Warwick, 9th-11th April 2024.

Picture of Prof. Songi Han

Bruker Thesis Prize

Since 2015, Bruker Biospin have also sponsored an annual thesis prize, awarded to recognise outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. Please click here for details.

Past Bruker Lecturers

A gallery of award photos can be found below.

38th: “EasySpin – EPR at your fingertips”, Prof Stefan Stoll, University of Washington, Seattle, USA.
37th: “Sensitivity and Time Resolution in High Field EPR”, Prof Graham Smith, University of St. Andrews, UK.
36th: “Exploiting Photogenerated Radical Pairs as Electron Spin Qubits for Quantum Information Applications”, Prof Mike Wasielewski, Northwestern University, USA. (Delivered online at the 2021 meeting)
35th: “The attraction of unpaired electrons”, Prof David Collison, University of Manchester, UK. (Delivered online at the 2021 meeting)
34th: “Electron-Nuclear Polarization Transfer in ENDOR and Liquid DNP to Study Biomolecules”, Prof Marina Bennati, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry / University of Göttingen, Germany.
33rd: “Hyperfine companions on a journey through the world of (bio)materials”, Prof Sabine Van Doorslaer, University of Antwerp, Belgium.
32nd: “Continuously striving for higher sensitivity and resolution in EPR”, Dr Peter Höfer, Bruker BioSpin GmbH.
31st: “Exploring Radical Based Catalysis in Enzymes”, Professor R David Britt, University of California, Davis, USA.
30th: “EPR on more than one unpaired electron: too many spins?”, Professor Robert Bittl, Free University of Berlin, Germany.
29th: “Shedding light on single spins”, Professor Jörg Wrachtrup, University of Stuttgart, Germany.
28th: “Recent trends in organic high-spin/open-shell chemistry: electron spin technology”, Professor Takeji Takui, Osaka City University, Japan.
27th: “Pulsed EPR spectroscopy methodology”, Professor Kev M. Salikhov, Zavoisky Physical-Technical Institute in Kazan, Tatarstan.
26th: “New developments in EPR and DNP and application to biomolecular research”, Professor Thomas Prisner, University of Frankfurt, Germany.
25th: “The Fidelity of Spin Trapping”, Professor Ronald P. Mason, NIH, USA.
24th: “Measuring the Nanoworld”, Professor Gunnar Jeschke, ETH Zürich, Switzerland.
23rd: “Obscure Greek symbols in EPR and ENDOR”, Professor Edgar Groenen, University of Leiden, The Netherlands.
22nd: “High-field ENDOR – opportunities and frustrations”, Professor Daniella Goldfarb, Weizmann Institute, Israel.
21st: “Pulsed Dipolar ESR Spectroscopy and its Applications”, Professor Yuri D. Tsvetkov, Institute of Chemical Kinetics and Combustion, Novosibirsk, Russia.
20th: “EPR – an Exciting Topic?”, Professor Klaus-Peter Dinse, University of Darmstadt, Germany.
19th: “Watching Proteins Move with Site-Directed Spin Labeling”, Professor Wayne L. Hubbell, University of California, Los Angeles, USA.
18th: “Signals from the reaction center. Applications of EPR in photosynthesis”, Professor Wolfgang Lubitz, Max-Planck-Institute, Mülheim, Germany.
17th: “Interacting electron spins”, Professors Sandra and Gareth Eaton, University of Denver, USA.
16th: “Free radicals and transition metal ions: local probes of structure and function in biological systems”, Professor Jürgen Hüttermann, Saarland University, Germany.
15th: “EPR of transition metal ions. A tale of symmetry and of symmetry breaking”, Professor Dante Gatteschi, University of Florence, Italy.
14th: “High frequency EPR studies of paramagnetic inorganic and bio-inorganic systems”, Professor Jan Schmit, University of Leiden, The Netherlands.
13th: “ESR spectroscopy: past history, present status and future prospects”, Professor John R. Pilbrow, Monash University, Australia.
12th: “Physical chemistry through electron spin polarization”, Professor Keith A. McLauchlan, University of Oxford, UK.
11th: “ENDOR of metalloenzymes”, Professor Brian M. Hoffman, Northwestern University, Illinois, USA.
10th: “Discoveries with ESR”, Professor H. M. McConnell, Stanford University, California, USA.
9th: “Creation and detection of coherence and polarization in pulsed EPR”, Professor Arthur Schweiger, ETH Zurich, Switzerland.
8th: “The nuclear Zeeman interaction in electron resonance”, Professor Neil M. Atherton, University of Sheffield, Yorkshire.
7th: “EPR and ENDOR investigations of the primary reactions in bacterial photosynthesis”, Professor George Feher, University of California, San Diego, USA.
6th: “EPR, ENDOR and ESEEM on hexacyanoferrate in alkali halides”, Professor E. de Boer, University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands.
5th: “Modern techniques in ESR”, Professor Jack H. Freed, Cornell University, Ithaca, USA.
4th: “Alternatives to field modulation in ESR spectroscopy”, Professor James S. Hyde, National Biomedical ESR Center, Wisconsin, USA.
3rd: “Electron spin resonance in the study of transient free radicals”, Professor Hans Fischer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland.
2nd: “Multiple resonances involving ESR, NMR, and optical transitions: more than just a game?”, Professor Klaus Möbius, Free University Berlin, Germany.
1st: “Application of Electron Spin Resonance spectroscopy to the study of the effects of ionising radiation on DNA and DNA complexes”, Professor Martyn C. R. Symons, Leicester University, UK.

Prize Winners Gallery

Please contact the webmaster if you are able to provide a photograph of any Bruker Prize award that is currently missing or are included in a picture below and wish your photograph to be removed.