Bruker Prizes


Bruker Prize Lecture 2020

Prof. David Collison

Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made a major contribution to the application of EPR/ESR spectroscopy in chemical or biological systems. The ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2020 Bruker Prize will be awarded to Prof. David Collison of The University of Manchester. The nominations emphasised David’s seminal contributions to experimental and theoretical fundamentals of transition metal EPR, from bioinorganic chemistry to molecular materials, including his authoritative textbook. Crucially, they also stressed his important and selfless work in developing, supporting and nurturing the EPR community throughout his career. As co-founder and director of the successful EPSRC UK National EPR Facility, he has fostered collaboration not only between EPRists, but also between the EPR and wider science communities. This has had significant impact in widening the application base and popularising applications of EPR across the scientific spectrum.

The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.

Bruker Thesis Prize 2020

Dr Nabeel Aslam

The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the 6th Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, set up to recognize outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The winner of the 2020 competition is Dr Nabeel Aslam for his thesis completed at the University of Stuttgart, supervised by Prof. Jörg Wrachtrup.

Nabeel studied physics at the University of Mainz, Germany, and completed his studies in 2012. He then moved to Stuttgart, Germany, for his PhD in the institute of Prof. Jörg Wrachtrup. After earning his PhD degree in 2018, he joined the Department of Physics and Chemistry at Harvard University as a Postdoctoral fellow in the labs of Mikhail Lukin and Hongkun Park. He has been granted the Feodor Lynen fellowship by the Humboldt foundation.

The Bruker Thesis Prize 2020 lecture, entitled "Single electron spin nanoscale NMR with chemical structure resolution" was due to be delivered at the 53rd Annual International Meeting of the RSC ESR spectroscopy group in Manchester, on Wednesday, April 1st.

Details of past winners are available on our dedicated thesis prize page.

We are grateful to Bruker for their continued support of these prizes. After cancellation of the 2020 conference We are currently planning for the lectures to be delivered at the 2021 conference, along with those of the 2021 winners.