Bruker Prizes


Bruker Prize Lecture 2021

Portrait photograph of Prof. Michael Wasielewski

Since 1986 Bruker BioSpin has generously sponsored an annual lectureship and prize, given to a scientist who has made a major contribution to the application of EPR/ESR spectroscopy. The ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the 2021 Bruker Prize will be awarded to Prof. Michael Wasielewski of Northwestern University, for the development and application of Electron Paramagnetic Resonance to the study of photochemical and photophysical processes. Through his highly successful marriage of optical spectroscopy and EPR he has made pioneering contributions in the fields of artificial photosynthesis, nanoscale optoelectronics and quantum information science.

The 2021 Bruker Prize Lecture will be delivered at our 2021 meeting, hosted by University of Cardiff, and after cancellation of our Manchester meeting the 2020 Bruker Prize lecture will also take place at this meeting.

The list of previous Bruker Prize winners is available here.

Bruker Thesis Prize 2021

The ESR Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Bruker Corporation are pleased to announce the 7th Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, set up to recognize outstanding work by PhD students in the field of ESR Spectroscopy. The winner of the 2021 competition will be invited to give a prize lecture at the 54th Annual International Meeting of the RSC ESR spectroscopy group, run online by the University of Cardiff, 12th April – 16th April 2021. The rules of the competion are:

1. To be eligible for the Bruker ESR Thesis Prize, the thesis defence (viva voce examination or equivalent) must have taken place within 730 days of the deadline.

2. Applications should be submitted by the thesis author and must include a one-page summary, as well as letters of support from the thesis supervisor and one of the examiners (the external examiner where possible).

3. Theses that were previously submitted for the 2020 competition are still eligible if they fall within the dates above; authors of such theses should contact Ilya Kuprov (as below) but need not resubmit the paperwork.

Submissions will be shortlisted by the RSC ESR Group Committee. Each of the shortlisted works will be sent to an expert reviewer, appointed by the Committee, for comments on quality, importance and impact. The Committee will then collate reviewer comments and make an award decision.

The application deadline for the 2021 Bruker Thesis Prize is 12:00 (UK time) on 01 December 2020. Applications are now open.

Applications should be sent, in the form of four PDF files (one-page summary of the thesis, the full thesis, supervisor support letter, examiner support letter) to the ESR Group Secretary — Prof Ilya Kuprov (

Details of past winners are available on our dedicated thesis prize page.

We are grateful to Bruker for their continued support of these prizes.